The penalties for a first-time DUI conviction in Tennessee include a minimum of two days in jail, mandatory license suspension for one year, a minimum $350 fine, 24-hours community service and required completion of DUI School. It’s important to remember that these are minimum penalties—first-time offenders could receive harsher punishments, depending on the details of the case.
It is also important to know that these minimum penalties increase dramatically for second and subsequent DUI convictions. If you have been found guilty of DUI in the past and are facing a new charge of driving under the influence, the question becomes, “How old must the prior conviction be to count toward the penalty of the new conviction?” In legal terms, this length of time is called the “look back period.”
In Tennessee, the look back period is generally 10 years; however, certain circumstances may extend that period to 20 years. A knowledgeable Tennessee DUI attorney will be able to tell you, based on the details of your case, what the look back period will be for any previous DUI convictions on your record.
In most situations, prior DUI convictions that occurred within 10 years from the current charge will count against you, even if the previous conviction occurred in another state. However, an experienced attorney may be able to show that the previous conviction would not have occurred in the state of Tennessee or that your rights were not properly protected in the previous case—which may keep the previous conviction from counting against you.
At the Garza Law Firm, we are experienced in Tennessee DUI cases involving one or more prior DUI convictions. Attorney Marcos Garza has dedicated his practice to defending DUI charges, and his extensive knowledge of Tennessee DUI law may save you jail time, money in fines and penalties or—most importantly—having another DUI conviction on your record.
If you or someone you love is facing a DUI charge in Tennessee, call the Garza Law Firm and put our experience to work for you.
Call (888) 680-7554 to schedule a free, no-risk case consultation.
Send Us Your Questions. It's Free!Get Started Now
Submit Our Secure Online Case Form Now!Send Now
Submit Your Online Case Evaluation Today!Submit Now