A second-time DUI offender can expect greater fines, harsher penalties and longer jail times than first-time offenders. The state of Tennessee does not look favorably upon driving under the influence, and repeat offenders may face life-altering consequences.
For a second DUI offense in Tennessee, the state mandates a minimum sentence of 45 days in jail, with a maximum of 11 months and 29 days. This sentence must be served consecutively—in other words, you will not be allowed to just spend weekends in jail until you have reached 45 days. The ramifications of missing over a month of work or school could be devastating.
The minimum fine for a second DUI offense in Tennessee is $600, though you could be fined up to $3,500. This fine does not include other associated costs, such as court fees and probation expenses. After all is said and done, the cost of a DUI conviction can easily add up to $5,000 or more.
In addition to hefty financial penalties, you may be ordered to complete drug or alcohol abuse treatment, depending on the outcome of a drug and alcohol evaluation.
If you are convicted of a second DUI offense in Tennessee, your license will be revoked for no less than two years. Further, you will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle at your own expense. You will have to maintain and pay for a ignition interlock device in your vehicle in your vehicle for a minimum of 2 years.
Your vehicle may also be subject to seizure, which will in turn lead to even more financial burden.
Marcos Garza is an experienced DUI attorney who knows the intricacies of Tennessee DUI laws. A DUI conviction can have devastating effects, both personally and professionally. If you have been charged with DUI in Tennessee, call the Garza Law Firm to set up a free consultation, and give yourself the best opportunity to obtain a favorable outcome for your case.
Call (888) 680-7554 to schedule your free consultation with the Garza Law Firm today.